Gun Shot Treaty from Bay of Quinte to County of York

It was claimed by the Mississauga Nation that seven townships lying immediately south of Lake Simcoe, belonging to them, had never been surrendered. A moderate estimate of the value of these townships alone would be \$30,000.00. The area comprised in these townships alone is somewhat over 355,000 acres. The Commission has not been able to find that a surrender of the townships in question has ever been made. It was further discovered that the lands lying between the **Bay** of **Quinte** and the County of York, and extending north a day's journey from the shore of the lake, commonly supposed to have been surrendered by what is knows as the Gun Shot Treaty, are not described in any treaty. The Gun Shot Treaty, which was made on the 23rd day of September, 1787 and which was intended to cover the area in question, unfortunately does not contain any description whatever of the land covered by it. It is suggested by the Commission in the event of a surrender from the claimants of the large tract of hunting grounds above described, to include in the surrender the lands intended to be covered by the Gun Shot **Treaty** and the seven townships lying immediately south of Lake Simcoe, and the commission is of the opinion that the surrender should be extended to cover the 1,000 square miles claimed by the Chippewa Indians to have been improperly included in the Robinson-Huron Treaty, if upon examination the Commission should come to the conclusion that the claim of the Chippewas in this respect is well founded.

York County is a <u>historic county</u> in <u>Upper Canada</u>, <u>Canada West</u>, and the <u>Canadian</u> province of <u>Ontario</u>.

York County was created in 1792 and was part of the jurisdiction of <u>Home District</u> of <u>Upper Canada</u>. It originally comprised all of what is now <u>York Region</u>, <u>Peel Region</u>, <u>Halton Region</u>, <u>Toronto</u>, parts of the current <u>Durham Regional Municipality</u> and the current city of <u>Hamilton</u>.

In 1816, Wentworth County and Halton County were created from York County. In 1851, Ontario County and Peel County were separated from York.

In 1953, Metropolitan Toronto was separated from York County. At this time, the townships of Etobicoke, York and Scarboro (now Scarborough) seceded from York County, and the county office was moved to Newmarket from Toronto. The York County Court House and Adelaide Street Court House in Toronto are the only reminder of the former county seat in Toronto.

In 1971, the remaining portion of York County was replaced by the <u>York Regional Municipality</u>.